Book Award

Recognising excellence in the most substantial of traditional contributions, the book.

The ALRA Book Award celebrates the substantial contribution that is made by the sustained in-depth analysis provided by a legal book or monograph. The objective of this prize is to recognise research excellence in the publication of a book which make an outstanding contribution to the legal field.

The recipient of the PhD Award will receive a $1000 prize and an award certificate. The inaugural 2020 Awards will be awarded at the annual conference of the Australasian Law Academics Association (‘AALA’) to be held in Sydney 1‑4 July 2020.

Applications for the 2020 ALRA Book Award are due by close of business on Tuesday 17 March 2020, and should be sent (together will all requisite documentation) to

Eligibility Requirements

To be eligible for the 2020 ALRA Book Award, the applicant must meet the following criteria:

  1. The subject matter of the publicationmust be at least 66% within Field of Research code 18 (Law and Legal Studies) as assessed by the relevant institution in accordance with ARC guidelines.
  2. The applicant must be an academic staff member at a CALD member law school (or equivalent) where that staff member is employed at least 0.4 FTE at the time of the application (“employment requirement”).
  3. For co-authored works, at least 50% of all authors must be eligible in accordance with the employment requirement.
  4. The book must satisfy the HERDC definition of research.
  5. The book must have a publication or release date in the 24 months preceding the application (for the 2020 Award, the article or chapter must have been published between 17 March 2018 and 17 March 2020)
  6. Each publication can be nominated only once.

The final determination of any eligibility shall be assessed by the relevant Award Panel for the given award.

Application and Nomination Process

The application the 2020 ALRA Book Award, must be accompanied by an application form:

  • confirming that the application complies with the above eligibility requirements;
  • summarising the work, and outlining its significance and contribution to the relevant legal discipline; and
  • outlining why this work represents an outstanding example of legal scholarship, such that it would be a worthy recipient of the Book Award.

All applications must be nominated by the relevant Associate Dean of Research in Law (or functional equivalent) (the ‘ADR’) at the institution where the applicant is employed. That nomination must include a statement of endorsement by the ADR as to why the publication represents an outstanding contribution to scholarship in the relevant field. Generally, no more than five applications can be nominated by any School. All applications should include an electronic PDF version of the book so as to enable the efficient review and assessment of the publication (an author’s manuscript or equivalent is sufficient).

For any book that is shortlisted, it is expected that three (3) physical copies will be provided for final evaluation purposes (The Chair of the relevant panel will, if necessary, coordinate with the author and the relevant publisher to facilitate this.)

%d bloggers like this: